Voc10K: Lesson 20

7 AM, the usual morning lineup
Start on the chores and sweep ’til the floor’s all clean
Polish and wax, do laundry, and mop and shine up
Sweep again, and by then it’s like 7:15

And so I’ll read a book
Or maybe two or three
I’ll add a few new paintings to my gallery
I’ll play guitar and knit
And cook and basically
Just wonder when will my life, begin?

Then after lunch it’s puzzles and darts and baking
Papier mâché, a bit of ballet and chess
Pottery and ventriloquy, candle making
Then I’ll stretch, maybe sketch, take a climb
Sew a dress!

And I’ll reread the books
If I have time to spare
I’ll paint the walls some more
I’m sure there’s room somewhere
And then I’ll brush and brush
and brush and brush my hair
Stuck in the same place I’ve always been

And I’ll keep wanderin’ and wanderin’
And wanderin’ and wonderin’
When will my life begin?

Just smell the grass! The dirt! Just like I dreamed they’d be!
Just feel that summer breeze the way it’s calling me
For like the first time ever, I’m completely free!
I could go running
And racing
And dancing
And chasing
And leaping
And bounding
Hair flying
Heart pounding
And splashing
And reeling
And finally feeling
Now’s when my life begins!
— “When Will My Life Begin”

excess /ik’ses/ n.
adverse /’aedv%e:s/ adj.
averse /%e’v%e:s/ adj.
injurious /in’dgu%eri%es/ adj.
affectation /aefek’teishn/ n.
pretence /’pritens/ n. (pretense)
allusion /%e’lu:rgn/ cn.
annul /%e’n%vl/ vt. (annulling, annulled)
nullify /’n%vlifai/ vt.
appraise /%e’preiz/ vt.
apprise /%e’praiz/ vt.
augment /o:g’ment/ vt.
servitude /’s%e:vitju:d/ n.
carton /’ka:t%en/ cn.
allege /%e’ledg/ vt.
censure /’sensh%e/ n.vt.
reprimand /’reprimaend/ n.vt.
collusion /k%e’lu:rgn/ cn.
collude /k%e’lu:d/ v. (+with)
confidant /’konfidaent/ cn.
council /’kaunsl/ n.
counsel /’kaunsl/ n.v.
decease /di’si:s/ n.
dissent /di’sent/ n.vi. (+against/from/to)

About AyuanX

Big Brother is watching you! Yes, you!
This entry was posted in 日々単語. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

